Clash of Armies: Medieval

Banner COA

Time for Clash!

Fast Paced deckbuilding game played play turn byt turn. Grab you card during your turn and execute two action: Economics and Military. By Economic means to sum up your turn resources and buy stuff from the marketplace. Choose Wise because each card make a bigger deck. Sometimes Big decks are the best, effectives one are. The military: Check how many hits you can make to your opponent and how much defense you can make this turn.

Objective

The objective of the game is to buy more complex cards that strengthen both our attack and defense. There are 10 types of cards in the game, each one with its special characteristics.

How to play

It is played by turns, during our turn, we will add up the available resources and make the purchases we can, we will make the attack or actions that may complicate the opponent’s movements and finally we will see if we can establish a defense mechanism to prevent our opponent’s round from causing us great damage. 

Victory

The first to manage to generate a defined amount of damage to the opponent. Typical target values are 40 to 50 points of damage, providing an experience of 20 to 30 minutes per game. Other values can be pre-defined by the players. The number of turns played by the players should be the same, even if one arrives before the other at the target damage score.

Initial Setup

The initial setup is with 10 cards, 7 resources and 3 soldiers. 6 resources of value 1 and 1 resource Value 2. The 3 soldiers are taken randomly. The remaining resources are shuffle and placed in the center next to the vassal. Leftover soldiers are shuffled and placed face up on the market. The two vassal cards are taken and placed face up. All other cards are shuffled and form a main deck. The first 4 cards are taken from that deck and placed in a market.    

Main Symbos

RESOURCES: Resources are the currency used in the game, it indicates us on one hand the value of the resources we have available to use. 

The currency in the rest of the cards indicates the cost of the card. Some cards may have more than one coin, in that case, they are cards that add up to resources as well. 

ATTACK POINTS: These are the damage points that the card provides. During the round all the damage points are added up and these are the points that will be generated in the opponent, unless he has defenses that protect him.

 

DEFENSE:  The value indicated with this symbol is the amount of defense provided by this card either when it is a fortification, with it is a unit (quartering since without fortification there is no defense) or when it is in the monarch.

HEALING: These are the damage points that the card provides. During the round, all the damage points are added up and these are the points that will be generated in the opponent, unless he has defenses that protect him. 

Scrap Symbol

The scrap symbol indicates that the action next to it will be activated only if the card is undone, i.e. cannot be played again. The action will only be activated in that turn. 

Cards Part

The cards provide all the information needed to know what can be done with each one. The cards have two special areas: The side banner whose color indicates what type of card or faction it belongs to and the main information box. Some cards do not have the side banner, such as the events.

Defense

torrevigia
TorreDeVigia

The first is the one we mentioned earlier, fortifications. Fortifications can be placed to generate defense. The symbol indicates the value this card has. It also indicates two other fundamental aspects, what type of fortification structure it is (whether it is frontal or central) and the number of units it will allow us to quarter in it. The type of structure can condition the way we combine our combination. For example, an outpost does not allow us a frontal structure such as a moat or a bridge, but a castle does. Important: The unit that we want to quarter to increase our defenses, at the moment of placing it, cannot activate its actions. However, at the time of attacking if any of the quartered units is not suitable for the attack action, we can use it as if we would have it in hand. Then it does NOT return to the quartering, but is discarded like the rest. 

 

 

Uso de Defense

Once we have a structure on the table, we can place units on it for garrison instead of using them for attack, this way we get defense points and avoid being hurt by other players.

IF THE CARD IS USED FOR GARRISON, IT CANNOT PERFORM AN ATTACK ACTION IN THAT HAND.

During the attack if one decides to use the quartering of a card he can do it, activating for the attack, but this one does not return to the quartering, but it is discarded with the rest of the play.

The scoring system Let’s look at the following example. With The King (Defence 1) the Citadel (Def. 8) the Saracen Archer (Def 3) and the goalkeeper (Def 2) we have 14 points of density. this means that

 

In this case there is no damage of any kind, no damage points are added and the structure remains as it is for the next round

No damage points are generated, but the structure is considered to be overcome, so it will be sent to be discarded. 

In this case, the structure is considered to have been overcome and there are also points of attack. To know how much the amount is you must Subtract the Defense from the Attack (This would be in the example 18-4). In this case it would be 4 points of damage and the structure will be discarded. 

Queens & Kings

In the case of acquiring a king or queen, that card does not go to waste, but remains on the table. He is the vassal who will represent the king’s actions. A king activates one of the factions in the game.

Can I have more than one king in my deck? Yes, but only the one on the table is active. The vassal represents him. The vassal alone has no value but it activates the king’s actions.

The king usually has a defense value, if it does and the player has fortification, this value is added.

Some kings have passive actions. This one for example when attacked sends a siege unit of the opponent to the discard.

ricardo corazon de leon
Ricardo Corazón de Leon
Uso del rey

When a king is acquired, it remains on the table next to the deck and the vassal is placed on the discard that will later represent the king in subsequent moves.

Hero

juanadearco
JuanaDeArco

The hero has a faction and an action, he can have a faction other than the king’s and his action is OPTIONAL. That is, the player can use it or not. If it is important to know that the Hero activates the faction he belongs to, but unlike the king, there are some conditions of how he activates the faction units: If both are in the same hand, or if the hero is quartered and the unit is in the hand or vice versa. 

Accion por heroe

Unlike the king who, being at the table, permanently activates the action of the cards, in the case of the hero he has to meet certain conditions. These can be:

– That he is in the same hand as the Faction unit card

– That either one or both of them are in the Fortification.

Events

There are some cards of medieval events. If an Event appears when replenishing the market cards, it must be resolved before continuing, whether the event affects one or both players.

The medieval events in the initial Deck (Core Set) are 9, both positive and negative. All events in the official set affect BOTH players when they go out.

FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions

There are some cards of medieval events. If an Event appears when replenishing the market cards, it must be resolved before continuing, whether the event affects one or both players. If you have any doubts, check here if someone already had the same query, or you can go HERE to make the query you want.

LAST UPDATE JUL 2020

Yes, always. The cards that are downloaded may or may not have an impact. If for example only cards of value 4 or higher are available on the market and our resources only give 3, we can’t do anything about that hand. 

You can not save cards for the other hand. One option is to quarter the card in your structure, and then use it in the next hand.  Regardless of whether this one has a defense or not. 

No, the card to be discarded is the one in our hand, so it is not yet active for the game. If the player drops all the cards without taking into account this condition, the opponent will have the possibility to choose the card to discard.  If the opponent forgets about the discard and realizes after the hand is resolved, it will have no effect. 

Almost all the actions of your deck are optional.

In the basic deck, yes, except for the monarchs that, as we saw, remain on the table and it is the vassal who represents them in the deck, which goes to the discard. In the expansions there are units that can or should be used at the time of purchase. 

None. It is a condition in the game not only for the events but for all the cards, that if the cards asking for the moment are not in that condition, then the action is simply not performed. 

If, for example, the cards says “Take a resource” and there are no more resources available, the action is useless.

If a medieval Event comes when your are seting things up nothing happen, you just scrap thar card and will not be part of the Game. Medieval Events during setup, positivelly or negativelly will not affect the game.

¿Quieres comentarnos algo?
Please enter your email, so we can follow up with you.